Simbas ready to roar past visiting Germans in Tatu City Series


Five players are in line for their full test debuts as the Simbas squad for Saturday’s Tatu City Series clash against Germany.

“These players, Philip Ikambili, Oscar Simiyu, Bram Mayaka, George Nyambua and Leo Seje Owade have upped their game and proved worthy of selection to the squad,” said Team Manager Simiyu Wangila in Nairobi on Thursday.

Biko Adema returns to the Simbas fold after close to a decade and will start at flyhalf.

Simbas skipper Wilson Kopondo makes his first test appearance in two years when his side
takes on Germany at the RFUEA Ground on Saturday.

Speaking to the press at the game venue on Thursday, Kopondo said, ” It feels good to back. The team has worked hard and the players selected are all ready to serve the country.”

The experienced forward has been out through an injury sustained while in action for the Simbas in the 17-46 away  loss to Namibia in a Rugby Africa 1A match in August 2015.

Germany arrived in the country on Tuesday evening and held their first training on Wednesday.

The side, ranked 24th in the world, just a position below Kenya’s Simbas will hold their first training session in Nairobi on Wednesday, with their eyes trained on Saturday’sfixture which marks the start of Kenya’s international assignments for 2017.

German squad 

Sean Armstrong, Raynor Parkinso, Timo Vollenkemper, Kehoma Brenner, Jaco Otto, Jarrid Els, Harris Aounallah, Dale Garner, Michael Poppmeier, Jörn Schröder, Pirmin Stöhr, Luis Ball, Antony Dickinson, Chris Howells, Ben Ellermann, Daniel Cook, Jamie Murphy, Marcel Coetzee, Erik Marks, Damien Tussac, Tim Menzel, Mikael Tyumenev, Julius Nostadt, Christopher Hilsenbeck, Dasch Barber, Samy Füchsel, Mathieu Ducau, Felicien Vergnon, Marcel Henn.

Simbas squad to face Germany15.Tony Onyango  (Menengai Cream Homeboyz), 14. Darwin Mukidza (KCB, Vice Captain), 13. David Ambunya (SportPesa Quins), 12. Patrice Agunda (SportPesa Quins), 11. Jacob Ojee (KCB), 10. Biko Adema (Nondescripts), 9. Samson Onsomu (Resolution Impala Saracens), 1. Moses Amusala ( KCB), 2.Peter Karia (KCB), 3. Dennis Karani (Resolution Impala Saracens), 4. Wilson Kopondo (SportPesa Quins, Captain), 5. Simon Muniafu (Resolution Impala Saracens), 6.Eric Kerre (Resolution Impala Saracens), 7 Davis Chenge (KCB), 8. Martin Owila (KCB)
Replacements  16. Philip Ikambili (Menengai Cream Homeboyz)17. Oscar Simiyu (KCB), 18. Bramwell Mayaka (Menengai Cream Homeboyz), 19. Oliver Mang’eni ( KCB), 20. George Nyambua (Kabras Sugar)*, 21. Kelvin Masai (Menengai Cream Homeboyz), 22. Leo Seje Owade (Resolution Impala Saracens), 23. Dennis Muhanji (SportPesa Quins) .


About Author

Leave A Reply

Live Scores Powered by Maç Sonuçları